Special Issue: "State-of-the-Art Sensors Technology in Switzerland" - Sensors Journal

Managing Editor:
Mr. Matthias Burkhalter
MDPI Center Sensors Office
Kandererstrasse 25
CH-4057 Basel / Switzerland
Tel +41 61 683 7734, Fax +41 61 302 8918
E-mail: burkhalter@mdpi.org, sensors@mdpi.org; http://www.mdpi.org/sensors

Supervisor of this special issue:
Prof. Dr. Peter Seitz
Vice President Nanomedicine, CSEM SA, Research Center for Nanomedicine
Schulstrasse 1, CH-7302 Landquart, Switzerland
Professor of Optoelectronics, Institute for Microtechnology
University of Neuchâtel, Switzerland
Tel. +41 81 330 0972, Fax +41 81 330 0971, Mob. +41 79 253 5750, Skype peter.seitz
E-mail: peter.seitz@unine.ch; http://www3.unine.ch/members/peter.seitz; http://www.csem.ch

Deadline for Paper submission: CLOSED - Issue 2 in planning

Papers published in 2007 and 2008

oa
Ruedi Stoop *, Tom Jasa, Yoko Uwate  and Stefan Martignoli 
Institute of Neuroinformatics University/ETH Zurich, Winterthurerstr. 190, 8057 Zurich Switzerland
* Author to whom correspondence should be addressed.
E-mail: ruedi@ini.phys.ethz.ch.
Received: 5 December 2007 / Accepted: 13 December 2007 / Published: 14 December 2007
Full Research Paper: From Hearing to Listening: Design and Properties of an Actively Tunable Electronic Hearing Sensor
Sensors 2007, 7, 3287-3298 (PDF format, 1540 K)


Open Access
Dominik Bänninger 1,*, Claude Saskia Bourgeois 2, Margret Matzl 3, Martin Schneebeli 3
1 Institute of Environmental Geosciences,Department of Environmental Sciences, University of Basel, Bernoullistrasse 30, 4056 Basel, Switzerland
2 Institute for Atmospheric and Climate Science, ETH Zürich, Universitätstrasse 16, 8092 Zürich, Switzerland; E-mail: bourgeois@meteotest.ch
3 WSL Institute for Snow and Avalanche Research, SLF , Flüelastrasse 11, Davos Dorf, Switzerland; E-mail: schneebeli@slf.ch
* Author to whom correspondence should be addressed; E-mail: dominik.baenninger@unibas.ch
Received: 18 January 2008 / Accepted: 23 May 2008 / Published: 26 May 2008
Article: Reflectance Modeling for Real Snow Structures Using a Beam Tracing Model
Sensors 2008, 8, 3482-3496 (PDF format, 1250 K) DOI: 10.3390/s8053482

Open Access
Corinne Mattmann 1,*, Frank Clemens 2 and Gerhard Tröster 1
1 Wearable Computing Lab, ETH Zürich, Gloriastrasse 35, 8092 Zürich; E-mails: mattmann@ife.ee.ethz.ch; troester@ife.ee.ethz.ch
2 EMPA Dübendorf, Überlandstrasse 129, 8600 Dübendorf; E-mail: Frank.Clemens@empa.ch
* Author to whom correspondence should be addressed.
Received: 6 May 2008; in revised form: 20 May 2008 / Accepted: 21 May 2008 / Published: 3 June 2008
Article: Sensor for Measuring Strain in Textile
Sensors 2008, 8, 3719-3732 (PDF format, 1880 K) DOI: 10.3390/s8063719

Open Access
Robin Tecon and Jan Roelof van der Meer *
Department of Fundamental Microbiology, Bâtiment Biophore, Quartier UNIL-Sorge, University of Lausanne, 1015 Lausanne, Switzerland
* Author to whom correspondence should be addressed; E-Mails: Robin.Tecon@unil.ch;
JanRoelof.Vandermeer@unil.ch; Tel.: +41 21 692 5630; Fax: +41 21 692 5605
Received: 22 May 2008; in revised version: 6 July 2008 / Accepted: 9 July 2008 / Published: 10 July 2008
Article: Bacterial Biosensors for Measuring Availability of Environmental Pollutants
Sensors 2008, 8, 4062-4080 (PDF format, 726 K) DOI: 10.3390/s8074062

Open Access
Markus Rothmaier 1,*, Minh Phi Luong 1 and Frank Clemens 2
1 Empa, Swiss Federal Laboratories for Materials Testing and Research, Laboratory for Protection and Physiology, Lerchenfeldstrasse 5, 9014 St. Gallen, Switzerland
2 Empa, Swiss Federal Laboratories for Materials Testing and Research, Laboratory for High Performance Ceramics, Ueberlandstrasse 129, 8600 Duebendorf, Switzerland
* Author to whom correspondence should be addressed; E-mail: markus.rothmaier@empa.ch
Received: 2 July 2008; in revised form: 23 July 2008 / Accepted: 23 July 2008 / Published: 25 July 2008

Article: Textile Pressure Sensor Made of Flexible Plastic Optical Fibers
Sensors 2008, 8, 4318-4329 (PDF format, 807 K) DOI: 10.3390/s8074318

Open Access
Nicolas Wyrsch *, Gregory Choong, Clément Miazza and Christophe Ballif
Institut de Microtechnique (IMT), University of Neuchâtel, Breguet 2, 2000 Neuchâtel, Switzerland
E-mails: nicolas.wyrsch@unine.ch; gregory.choong@unine.ch; christophe.ballif@unine.ch.
* Author to whom correspondence should be addressed.
Received: 8 July 2008; in revised form: 5 August 2008 / Accepted: 6 August 2008 / Published: 8 August 2008

Article: Performance and Transient Behavior of Vertically Integrated Thin-film Silicon Sensors
Sensors 2008, 8, 4656-4668 (PDF format, 292 K) DOI: 10.3390/s8084656

Open Access
Jürg Schopfer *, Stefan Dangel, Mathias Kneubühler and Klaus I. Itten
University of Zurich, Remote Sensing Laboratories, Winterthurerstrasse 190, 8057 Zurich, Switzerland
E-mails: dangel@geo.uzh.ch, kneub@geo.uzh.ch, klaus.itten@geo.uzh.ch
* Author to whom correspondence should be addressed; E-mail: juerg.schopfer@geo.uzh.ch
Received: 3 July 2008; in revised form: 22 August 2008 / Accepted: 24 August 2008 / Published: 28 August 2008

Article: The Improved Dual-view Field Goniometer System FIGOS
Sensors 2008, 8, 5120-5140 (PDF format, 880 K) DOI: 10.3390/s8085120

Open Access
Giacomo Indiveri
Institute of Neuroinformatics, UZH - ETH Zurich, Winterthurerstrasse 190, 8052 Zurich, Switzerland; E-mail: giacomo@ini.phys.ethz.ch 
Received: 30 June 2008; in revised form: 1 September 2008 / Accepted: 2 September 2008 / Published: 3 September 2008

Article: Neuromorphic VLSI Models of Selective Attention: From Single Chip Vision Sensors to Multi-chip Systems
Sensors 2008, 8, 5352-5375 (PDF format, 1024 K) DOI: 10.3390/s8095352

Open Access
Niels Quack 1,*, Stefan Blunier 1, Jurg Dual 1, Ferdinand Felder 2, Martin Arnold 2 and Hans Zogg 2,*
1 Institute of Mechanical Systems, Department of Mechanical and Process Engineering, ETH Zurich. Center of Mechanics, Tannenstrasse 3, ETH Zentrum CLA J35, CH-8092 Zürich, Switzerland; Phone: +41 44 632 35 63, Fax: +41 44 632 11 45; E-mail: niels.quack@imes.mavt.ethz.ch; stefan.blunier@imes.mavt.ethz.ch; dual@imes.mavt.ethz.ch
2 Thin Film Physics Group, Technopark, ETH-Trakt PFA J25, Technoparkstrasse 1, CH-8005 Zürich, Switzerland. Phone: +41 44 633 79 55, Fax: +41 44 633 18 61; E-mail: ffelder@phys.ethz.ch; zogg@phys.ethz.ch
* Author to whom correspondence should be addressed.
Received: 17 July 2008; in revised form: 1 September 2008 / Accepted: 1 September 2008 / Published: 4 September 2008

Article: Mid-Infrared Tunable Resonant Cavity Enhanced Detectors
Sensors 2008, 8, 5466-5478 (PDF format, 945 K) DOI: 10.3390/s8095466

Accepted Paper

K.I. Itten, F. Dell’Endice *, A. Hueni, M. Kneubühler, D. Odermatt, F. Seidel, S. Huber, J. Schopfer, T. Kellenberger, Y. Bühler, P. D’Odorico, J. Nieke, E. Alberti, K. Meuleman**
Remote Sensing Laboratories, University of Zurich – Irchel Winterhurerstrasse 190, CH-8057 Zurich, Switzerland ** VITO – Flemish Institute for Technological Research Boeretang, 200 B-2400 Mol, Belgium
* Author to whom correspondence should be addressed.
Article: APEX - the Hyperspectral ESA Airborne Prism Experiment

Related papers published in 2007 and 2008

oa
Mike Schwank 1,* and Timothy R. Green 2
1 Institute of Terrestrial Ecosystems (ITES), ETH-Zürich, Universitätstr. 16, 8092 Zürich, Switzerland
2
USDA-ARS, Agricultural Systems Research Unit, Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
* Author to whom correspondence should be addressed; E-mail: mike@schwank.ch

Received: 28 February 2007 / Accepted: 23 April 2007 / Published: 26 April 2007
Full Paper: Simulated Effects of Soil Temperature and Salinity on Capacitance Sensor Measurements
Sensors 2007, 7, 548-577 (PDF format, 1006 K)

oa
Jens Nieke 1 and Ils Reusen 2
1 University of Zurich, Remote Sensing Laboratories, Zurich, Switzerland
2  VITO – TAP, Boeretang 200, B-2400 Mol, Belgium
* Corresponding author: Jens Nieke; E-mail: nieke@geo.uzh.ch
Received: 18 May 2007 / Accepted: 11July 2007 / Published: 17 August 2007
Full Research Paper: A New Method to Retrieve the Data Requirements of the Remote Sensing Community – Exemplarily Demonstrated for Hyperspectral User NEEDS
Sensors 2007, 7, 1545-1558 (PDF format, 390 K)
(This paper belongs to Special Issue: “Remote Sensing of Natural Resources and the Environment (Remote Sensing Sensors)” Edited by Assefa M. Melesse)

Open Access
Dorothee Grieshaber 1,x, Robert MacKenzie 1,x, Janos Vörös 1 and Erik Reimhult 2,*
1 Laboratory of Biosensors and Bioelectronics, Institute for Biomedical Engineering, ETH Zurich, Gloriastrasse 35, 8092 Zurich, Switzerland
E-mail: grieshaber@biomed.ee.ethz.ch. E-mail: mackenzie@biomed.ee.ethz.ch. E-mail: janos.voros (a) biomed.ee.ethz.ch
2 Laboratory for Surface Science and Technology, Department of Materials, ETH Zurich, Wolfgang-Pauli-Strasse 10, 8093 Zurich, Switzerland
E-mail: erik.reimhult@mat.ethz.ch
x The authors have contributed equally to the paper.
* Author to whom correspondence should be addressed.
Received: 23 January 2008 / Accepted: 28 January 2008 / Published: 7 March 2008

Review: Electrochemical Biosensors - Sensor Principles and Architectures
Sensors 2008, 8, 1400-1458 (PDF format, 5790 K)
(This paper belongs to Special Issue: “Utilizing of Electrochemical Sensors and Biosensors in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology” Edited by René Kizek)

Open Access
Felix Seidel 1,*, Daniel Schläpfer 1, Jens Nieke 2 and Klaus I. Itten 1
1 University of Zürich, Remote Sensing Laboratories, Zürich, Switzerland; E-mail: felix.seidel@geo.uzh.ch, daniel@rese.ch, klaus.itten (a) geo.uzh.ch.
2 ESA / ESTEC, Noordwijk, Netherlands; E-mail: jens.nieke@esa.int.
* Author to whom correspondence should be addressed.
Received: 30 January 2008 / Accepted: 17 March 2008 / Published: 18 March 2008
Full Research Paper: Sensor Performance Requirements for the Retrieval of Atmospheric Aerosols by Airborne Optical Remote Sensing
Sensors 2008, 8, 1901-1914 (PDF format, 2378 K)
(This paper belongs to Special Issue: “Remote Sensing of Natural Resources and the Environment (Remote Sensing Sensors)” Edited by Assefa M. Melesse)

Open Access
Fabio Fontana 1,*, Christian Rixen 2, Tobias Jonas 2, Gabriel Aberegg 1 and StefanWunderle 1
1 University of Bern, Remote Sensing Research Group, Hallerstrasse 12, 3012 Bern, Switzerland; E-mail: (fontana,swun,aberegg)@giub.unibe.ch
2 WSL, Swiss Federal Institute for Snow and Avalanche Research, Flüelastrasse 11, 7260 Davos Dorf, Switzerland; E-mail: (rixen,jonas)@slf.ch
* Author to whom correspondence should be addressed.
Received: 31 January 2008 / Accepted: 14 April 2008 / Published: 23 April 2008

Full Research Paper: Alpine Grassland Phenology as seen in AVHRR, VEGETATION, and MODIS NDVI Time Series - a Comparison with in Situ Measurements
Sensors 2008, 8, 2833-2853 (PDF format, 1210 K)
(This paper belongs to Special Issue: “Remote Sensing of Natural Resources and the Environment (Remote Sensing Sensors)” Edited by Assefa M. Melesse)

Open Access
Daniel Odermatt 1,*, Thomas Heege 2, Jens Nieke 1,3, Mathias Kneubühler 1 and Klaus Itten 1
1 Remote Sensing Laboratories (RSL), UZH, Winterthurerstr. 190, CH-8050 Zurich, Switzerland
2 EOMAP GmbH & Co. KG, Sonderflughafen Oberpfaffenhofen, D-82205 Gilching, Germany
3 ESA/ESTEC, 2000AG Noordwijk, The Netherlands
* Author to whom correspondence should be addressed; E-mail: daniel.odermatt@geo.uzh.ch
Received: 11 June 2008; in revised form: 30 July 2008 / Accepted: 31 July 2008 / Published: 5 August 2008
Article: Water Quality Monitoring for Lake Constance with a Physically Based Algorithm for MERIS Data
Sensors 2008, 8, 4582-4599 (PDF format, 414 K) DOI: 10.3390/s8084582
(This paper belongs to Special Issue: “Ocean Remote Sensing” Edited by James H. Churnside)

Open Access
Othmar Frey *, Felix Morsdorf and Erich Meier
Remote Sensing Laboratories, University of Zurich, Winterthurerstrasse 190, CH-8057 Zurich, Switzerland
E-mails: othmar.frey@geo.uzh.ch, felix.morsdorf@geo.uzh.ch, erich.meier@geo.uzh.ch
* Author to whom correspondence should be addressed.
Received: 30 May 2008; in revised form: 29 August 2008 / Accepted: 18 September 2008 / Published: 24 September 2008
Article: Tomographic Imaging of a Forested Area By Airborne Multi-Baseline P-Band SAR
Sensors 2008, 8, 5884-5896 (PDF format, 3350 K) DOI: 10.3390/s8095884
(This paper belongs to Special Issue: “Synthetic Aperture Radar (SAR)” Edited by Daniele Riccio)


Sensors Journal Special Issues

MDPI - Matthias Burkhalter -  22 September 2008