Special Issue on Satellite Altimetry: New Sensors and New Application

Edited by Ge Chen and Graham D. Quartly

Open Access
Graham Quartly 1 and Ge Chen 2
1 National Oceanography Centre, Empress Dock, Southampton, Hants, SO14 3ZH, UK
E-mail: gdq@noc.soton.ac.uk
2 Key Laboratory of Ocean Remote Sensing, Ministry of Education, Ocean Remote Sensing Institute,
Ocean University of China, 5, Yushan Road, Qingdao 266003, China
E-mail: gechen@ouc.edu.cn
Editorial: Introduction to the Special Issue on "Satellite Altimetry: New Sensors and New Applications"
Sensors 2006, 6, 616-619 (PDF format, 31 K)

Open Access
Yannice Faugere 1,*, Joël Dorandeu 1, Fabien Lefevre 1, Nicolas Picot 2 and Pierre Femenias 3
1 Collecte Localisation Satellite (CLS), 8-10 rue Hermès, 31526 Ramonville St-Agne, France
Tel : (33) 5 61 39 48 55, Fax : (33) 5 61 39 37 82, E-mails: faugere@cls.fr (Yannice Faugere),
dorandeu@cls.fr (J. Dorandeu), lefevre@cls.fr (F. Lefevre)
2 Centre National d’Etudes Spatiales (CNES), DCT/PO/AL BPI 2002, 18, Av. Edouard Belin 31401 Toulouse Cedex 9, France
E-mail: nicolas.picot@cnes.fr
3 European Space Agency, EO Ground Segment Department, ESA/ESRIN EOP-GOQ, Via Galileo Galilei CP64, Frascati, Italy, E-mail: pierre.femenias@esa.int
* Author to whom correspondence should be addressed.
Envisat Ocean Altimetry Performance Assessment and Cross-calibration
Sensors 2006, 6, 100-130 (PDF format, 2047 K)

Open Access
M. Joana Fernandes *, Susana Barbosa and Clara Lázaro
Faculdade de Ciências, Universidade do Porto, Departamento de Matemática Aplicada, Rua do Campo Alegre, 687, 4169-007, Porto, Portugal
Tel: 00351 220 100 802, Fax: 00351 220 100 809
* Author to whom correspondence should be addressed: mjfernan@fc.up.pt
Impact of Altimeter Data Processing on Sea Level Studies
Sensors 2006, 6, 131-163 (PDF format, 1019 K)

Open Access
Vivien Enjolras 1,2,*, Patrick Vincent 3, Jean-Claude Souyris 1, Ernesto Rodriguez 4, Laurent Phalippou 5 and Anny Cazenave 1,2
1 CNES, 18 av. Edouard Belin, 31055 Toulouse Cedex 4, France
Tel : (33) 5 61 27 38 38, Fax : (33) 5 61 28 34 22, Email: vivien.enjolras@gmail.com
2 LEGOS, 14 av. Edouard Belin, 31400 Toulouse, France
Email: anny.cazenave@cnes.fr
3 IFREMER, 155 rue Jean Jacques Rousseau, 92138 Issy les Moulineaux, France
Email: patrick.vincent@ifremer.fr
4 JPL, 4800 Oak Grove Drive, Pasadena, CA 91109, USA
Email: Ernesto.rodriguez@jpl.nasa.gov
5 ALCATEL SPACE, 28, av. Jean François Champollion, 31000 Toulouse, France
Email: Laurent.Phalippou@alcatelaleniaspace.com
*Author to whom correspondence should be addressed
Performances Study of Interferometric Radar Altimeters: from the Instrument to the Global Mission Definition
Sensors 2006, 6, 164-192 (PDF format, 1600 K)

Open Access
Ngan Tran 1,*, and Bertrand Chapron 2
1 Direction Océanographique Spatiale, Collecte Localisation Satellites, 8-10 Rue Hermès, 31520 Ramonville St-Agne, France
2 Centre ERS d’Archivage et de Traitement, Institut Français de Recherche pour l’Exploitation de la MER/Centre de Brest, B.P. 70, 29280 Plouzané, France
E-mail: Bertrand.Chapron@ifremer.fr
* Author to whom correspondence should be addressed. E-mail: ntran@cls.fr
Combined Wind Vector and Sea State Impact on Ocean Nadir-Viewing Ku- and C-Band Radar Cross-Sections
Sensors 2006, 6, 193-207 (PDF format, 356 K)

Open Access
Patrick Vincent 1,*, Nathalie Steunou 2, Eric Caubet 3, Laurent Phalippou 3, Laurent Rey 3, Eric Thouvenot 2 and Jacques Verron 4
1 IFREMER, 155 rue Jean-Jacques Rousseau, 92138 Issy-Les-Moulineaux, France
2 Centre National d’Etudes Spatiales, 18 Avenue E. Belin, 31401 Toulouse Cédex 9, France
3 Alcatel Alenia Space, 26 Avenue J.F. Champollion, BP 1187, 31037 Toulouse Cédex 1, France
4 LEGI, UMR 5519, BP 53, 38041 Grenoble Cédex 9, France
E-mail addresses: Patrick.Vincent@ifremer.fr, Nathalie.Steunou@cnes.fr, Eric.Caubet@alcatelaleniaspace.com, Laurent.Phalippou@alcatelaleniaspace.com,
Laurent.Rey@alcatelaleniaspace.com, Eric.Thouvenot@cnes.fr, jacques.verron@hmg.inpg.fr
AltiKa: a Ka-band Altimetry Payload and System for Operational Altimetry during the GMES Period
Sensors 2006, 6, 208-234 (PDF format, 299 K)

Open Access
Caiyun Zhang * and Ge Chen
Key Laboratory of Ocean Remote Sensing, Ministry of Education, Ocean Remote Sensing Institute, Ocean University of China, 5 Yushan Road, Qingdao 266003, China
E-mails:  zhangcy@orsi.ouc.edu.cn, gechen@ouc.edu.cn
* Author to whom correspondence should be addressed.
A First Comparison of Simultaneous Sea Level Measurements from Envisat, GFO, Jason-1, and TOPEX/Poseidon
Sensors 2006, 6, 235-248 (PDF format, 429 K)

Open Access
Tom Allan
Satellite Observing Systems, Church Street, Godalming, Surrey GU7 1EL UK
tom@satobsys.co.uk
The story of GANDER
Sensors 2006, 6, 249-259 (PDF format, 340 K)

Open Access
V. Yu. Karaev 1,*, M. B. Kanevsky 1, G. N. Balandina 1, E. M. Meshkov 1, P. Challenor 2, Meric Srokosz 2,* and C. Gommenginger 2
1 Institute of Applied Physics, Russian Academy of Scinces 46, Uljanov str., 603950, Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
Tel. +7 8312 164928, E-mil: volody@hydro.appl.sci-nnov.ru
2 National Oceanography Centre, Southampton, SO14 3ZH, UK
E-mail: mas@noc.soton.ac.uk
Full Research Paper: A Rotating Knife-beam Altimeter for Wind-swath Remote Sensing of Ocean: Wind and Waves
Sensors 2006, 6, 620-642 (PDF format, 134 K)
(This paper has been made Open Access since 18 July 2006)

Contact sensors@mdpi.org, last update: 5 October 2006